Posted by: TokenWife | October 17, 2009

Honesty & Forgiveness

 

When I was Muslim, I would start my blog posts (or most things I did that I felt were important) off with the following:  Bismillah ir rahmaan ir raheem!  Which simply means: In the name of God, the beneficent and most merciful.

I somehow feel incomplete or almost disrespectful by starting my blogs off with nothing at all anymore, since I am no longer following Islam I felt it inappropriate to begin that way.  But, I am still a follower of The Way, and have since allowed Christ Jesus into my heart and praise him daily.  So I have decided to still open the same way, just with a Christian spin.

I say all that, to say this:

 

In the name of The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit, Amen…

 

When you make the decision to forgive an individual, why does it seem that another person (or other people)– who is/are not involved in the issue – tries so hard to make the forgiveness you are seeking to share nearly impossible to accomplish?

Is it the fact that the many mistakes this person (who is not involved) has made in their life is haunting them because they have not sought repentance?

Or perhaps the direction they are headed in their life (and seemed to have been headed since their youth) has not changed, nor does it seem to be headed to positive change and perhaps they feel the bitterness of not knowing God because they refuse to genuinely turn to Him.

I am not sure of the reason, but I do pity those in the aforementioned situation.

I often remark that, “You don’t know me, so don’t think that you do”, not out of bitterness or mean spiritedness – But more so out of honesty and caring.

A person can allow themselves into an embarrassing or compromising situation by behaving as if they know exactly who I am without even taking the time to get to know me at all.  By listening to others who have assumptions about me and how I am can also lead one down a similar road I’m afraid.

I am not a perfect person, nor do I have all the answers – but one thing is for sure, and that is:  If I offer up a statement, recommendation, or blog about certain behaviors that I feel one should/should not partake in, I am more than likely following my own advice.

I not only write these blogs for other people, I write them for myself as well.

May peace be with you.

lisa1_thumb[2]

Leave a Reply

Categories

